Skip to content

Long National Nightmare Ends: Strikeforce Signs Fedor

August 3, 2009
FedorGoose

The geese are like, a metaphor for Communism. Or Twitter.

Last week when it became apparent that Fedor wasn’t going to sign with the UFC, young blogger Stephn Montemayor said, “If Strikeforce lands Fedor over UFC, just how embarrassing would that be?” on his Twitter. Then I was all like, “Pfft. No big deal.” It was just another example of age over beauty. Wait. Age and beauty over a college kid. Yeah, that’s better.

Anyway, I liked the idea of Strikeforce signing Fedor. Strikeforce has a couple decent big fellas to throw to the lions Fedor. They’re on Showtime, which I subscribe to*.

It’s a good signing. Strikeforce gains more by having Fedor than they lose by having to co-promote with M-1. Winners all around.

Then guess what Strikeforce did? They signed Fedor. Huzzah! I’m dubious about Overeem and Werdum, but I’m positively psyched about Fedor vs. Brett Rogers. Best of all, I probably won’t have to pay for it. Of course, if they go the PPV-route, I’m going to change my tune quickly.

Either way, it’ll be nice to get that Russian hackfraud in the cage again. And I can stop blogging about him until he has a fight scheduled.

*Dexter is great. Weeds still entertains me. The Showtime program that really gets me is Big Brother After Dark. I don’t know why. I don’t watch Big Brother. Never seen a single episode of any season. Somehow, I’ve been sucked into watching BBAD on multiple occasions while playing poker late at night. I can’t explain it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Same2u permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:20 pm

    I do have one question. When is Tito going to fight this guy. Tito was the only guy I knew in this sport before this Fedor guy was flipping off the crowd

    P.S.
    Damn,
    You keep the Sitemeter private.

  2. August 3, 2009 8:23 pm

    Tito’s never going to fight Fedor.

    The Sitemeter is private so no one can laugh at me.

    • Same2u permalink
      August 3, 2009 9:33 pm

      How about Lesnar. I actually meant him.

      • August 4, 2009 12:33 am

        Tito isn’t going to fight Lesnar. Tito will finish his career with a couple legend match ups in the LHW division where’s he’s always fought.

  3. ldfish permalink
    August 3, 2009 11:35 pm

    Are there any interesting fights for Fedor in Strikeforce?

    It’s bad when you make match ups in your head and you add “I guess” after each one. Fedor vs Overeem, I guess.

  4. August 4, 2009 12:30 am

    I like Brett Rogers against Fedor. Fedor and his people were interested in the fight before Affliction folded so that’s a good sign. Rogers seems like he could be really good. Like I said above, I’m “meh” about Overeem and Werdum.

    Fedor will probably never fight in the UFC and Lesnar is going to spend the rest of his career in the UFC. Hence, we’re not going to see it.

  5. ldfish permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:24 pm

    I hope they give Rogers a few more fights before he faces Fedor. I understand the the risk but Brett might be the best match up for a big CBS show. It would be nice to see the best Brett Rogers possible.

  6. October 4, 2009 1:37 am

    Weeds is also a really good series. Id highly reccommend watching it, its really good. If you want to check it out
    http://www.watchweeds-online.com streams all weeds episodes free. Tell me if you like it.

Leave a Reply

