Skip to content

The First UFC Event I Watched…

July 9, 2009

I’ve been trying to pinpoint the first UFC event I ever watched. It was in the Summer or Fall of 2005. That’s right, I’ve only been following MMA for 4 years. Before that, I have a memory of my cousin babysitting my brother and I and he ordered one of the early tournament-style events. I’m almost certain this actually happened.

Back to 4 years ago. I’ve been looking at the Wiki pages of the events from that time frame and I think I’ve figured it out. We definitely bought UFC 54. I remember having a cookout at my girlfriend’s house a few houses down the block and then going back to the apartment to watch the fight. I was very close to thinking that was the first fight I bought.

However, when I flipped back to UFC 53: Heavy Hitters, I remembered seeing Bill Mahood fight. Since his UFC 53 loss to Forrest Griffin was his only appearance inside the octagon, I’m willing to bet that this was the first event my roommate and I ever purchased. It was June 4, 2005. The night my life changed by watching men wrestle in their underwear.

Obviously, I was hooked from the beginning. I don’t think I’ve missed more than 2 PPV’s since we started. Since there’s no MMA on tonight (except for a rerun of one of the Ultimate 100 episodes on Spike) I figured we could all talk about our earliest UFC memories. I hear there’s a big event coming up soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 7:00 pm

    The third Shamrock/Ortiz fight.

  2. July 9, 2009 7:24 pm

    i have been watching the ufc since pretty much the beginning…me and my friends would have sleepovers where we would buy the vhs tapes of the ufc events and just watch them all night. our parents thought it was pro wrestling and not real so they didnt care. i cant really tell you my first event but i can tell you my earliest memory .and it was of dan severn suplexing some poor skinny kid belly to back not once but twice in a row. and of course gracie somehow tapping almost everyone he faced after running down the aisle with his family. and tank abbott knocking out a giant hawaiian dude in a few seconds (his name was john matua)

  3. David H permalink
    July 9, 2009 10:01 pm

    When I was younger, I would visit my grandmothers every other weekend. As a huge WWF fan, I would walk to the nearby video store and rent every wrestling tape I could find. The first UFC shows began appearing after a while. I ignored them for a few months until I finally decided to check one out. I rented the first show. I don’t really remember what I thought of it, but I did rent the next four or five. After that, I kind of forgot about UFC for a long time. I got out of wrestling in high school. A while later, I got into pro wrestling again and starting reading all the websites. They would discuss UFC as well, and I gave it another shot. This was right after the first season of Ultimate Fighter. So I watched the second season, and have gone from there. I began watching whatever I could find on the internet: PRIDE, K-1, HEROES, IFL, I even remember the one WFA event that had Quinton Jackson on it. Today, I’m so bored with pro wrestling and am hooked on UFC.

Leave a Reply

