Skip to content

We’re Getting Closer…

July 8, 2009

Monday night I came home from my softball game (We lost. We suck. Not me specifically, I’m decent. Anyway.) and decided to not continue drinking. I thought it was the responsible thing to do. No reason to get drunk on a Monday night after all. (Who wrote this? – ED) Then I ended up getting sick. No fun. I’m still recovering almost 48 hours later. I’ve had a strict regimine of DayQuil, cough drops and OJ. This has put a damper on what should be a celebratory week.

But I’m not going to dwell on this rough patch. I’m going to be 100% by Saturday and that’s all that matters. And boy am I excited because as expected, the UFC 100 Countdown show last night was awesome.

Mir and Lesnar don’t seem to like each other, but they both appreciate what the other is capable of. And they kind of hate each other. Then there’s the St. Pierre-Alves match.

First things first – Is it pronounced Al-Ves or Alv’s. It seems like Dana White pronounces it Alv’s, but everyone else – including the voice of the octagon, Mike Goldberg, pronounces it Alves. Perhaps we’ll never know?

Either way, Alves seems to legitimately look up to GSP. He talks about him like a hero. Well, a hero he wants to beat up anyway. Yeah, it looks like it could be a good fight.

As for this evening, the Ultimate 100 Countdown continues with fights #11-30. A replay of #50-31 precedes it.

At 10pm, there’s a replay of UFC Fight Night 15: Diaz vs. Neer.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 6:28 pm

    The preview of the Bisping Henderson fight on the countdown was sick too. Especially since I didn’t catch all the UTF episodes.

    That water squirt was fucking lame. I hope Bisping gets his ass kicked

  2. July 8, 2009 7:47 pm

    The Alv’s thing is something I noticed as well. Seems like they’re making it a point now to go with that name. He’s just too one-dimensional, so maybe that’s the root of his one-syllable name.

    You guys should stream/listen from 3-6 (EST) this week to 1100 out of Las Vegas…great coverage.

  3. July 8, 2009 9:27 pm

    for the new to mma crowd this event is big to be on espn.com’s front page for like 15 seconds. yeah pretty big right? i cant fucking wait. you can catch me making comments about it at tbl or if the party is here then here.

  4. July 8, 2009 10:19 pm

    He’s even Al-ves in the commercials.

Leave a Reply

