Skip to content

Live From Mohegan Sun… (Update)

June 12, 2009

bellator-fighting_mediumUpdate: There is internet here, but a live-blog for one is depressing. Full wrap up in the morning. Until then, follow the Tweets.

Original Text: The good people at Bellator Fighting Championships have been kind enough to grant me press credentials for tonight’s show. Bellator XI will feature a Welterweight title fight between Lyman Good and Omar De La Cruz. Winner gets a nice belt and 100K. Sherdog has a little background on the title contenders.

I would live-blog the card, but apparently, Mohegan Sun doesn’t have WiFi or any sort of internet hookup inside the arena.  That’s kind of insane if you ask me. (I hope they have a phone bank. You know, a group of pay phones.) I guess that leaves my Blackberry and I to tweet our thoughts and observations about the fights. (Yes, my Blackberry has thoughts.)

Anyway, here is the card:

170 tourney finale: Lyman Good (9-0) vs. Omar De La Cruz (5-1)
170: Igor Gracie (1-1) vs. Vagner Rocha (1-0)
170: Dan Hornbuckle (17-2) Mazaffar Abdurakhmanov vs. Marcelo Alfaia (10-5)
170: Matt Makowski (5-1) vs. Justin Torrey (4-0)
155: Colin Tebo (2-0) vs. Nick Pace (1-0)
185: David Branch (2-0) vs. Dennis Olson (6-1)
145: Jimmie Rivera (3-1) vs. Nick Garcia (1-2)
185: Uriah Hall (1-0) vs. Armando Montoya (0-0)

It’s been a good first season for Bellator, which broadcasts their fights the next day on ESPN Deportes. I haven’t read a single disparaging word about the young promotion. Hopefully, next season they get the show on an English-speaking ESPN channel. (I don’t even think I have ESPN Deportes.) It seems that every week of the 12 week tournament has featured an absolutely incredible highlight. First they had the inverted triangle choke. Then there was the spinning backfist KO. Most recently, another vicious KO – this time by knee.

I’ll have a full report later in the weekend. You know, once I can get an internet signal.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 4:06 pm

    good shit crm…

  2. June 13, 2009 10:39 am

    I’ll second that! This will be my first stop for MMA Info…

  3. MtotheP permalink
    June 14, 2009 12:53 pm

    Where’s our UFC 99 posts? On TBL or here?

Leave a Reply

