Skip to content

UFC On TV Tonight

June 11, 2009

arianny3I have to say, it’s been quite a week here at the new blog. In just 4 days, I’ve written 18-or-so posts. Fairly impressive I think. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep this pace during non-fight weeks, but I’ll try. The main thing for me to remember is that I really enjoy this.

This blog is the internet manifestation of everything I’ve been relaying to the people in my living room over the last few years. I’d read blogs and do research just for my own personal knowledge, then I’d end up retelling some of the pointless info I knew about fights and fighters after a few beers on fight night. (That’s where the booze from the title comes in. I’m not going to force that ingredient into the blog, I’m going to let it seep in… somehow. If you’ve read my stuff for any amount of time, you know it will find it’s way.)

The blog is going to make it’s first real traffic bump when I mention it during the UFC 99 Preview on TBL tomorrow. It will be the first time non-Tweeps will be hearing about it. That’s definitely one of the perks of writing for one of the most widely-read sports blogs in the English speaking world. The (literally) dozens of people who read the MMA articles at TBL (and actually kind of enjoy them) will be able to come over here and read it on a daily basis. Hopefully, the blog’s growth with be meteoric. Don’t worry, I’m not holding my breath.

Since I’m still in the feeling out process for Blood, Booze and Bruises I’m not sure how this weekend’s coverage will carry. I’m working the weekend at TBL so I’ll have that on my plate. I don’t forsee a live-blog because, well, Saturday is a night for heavy drinking. (Hey! Look at that, the booze element has arrived!)

Onto the evening schedule:

Spike has back to back episodes of UFC Unleashed. First at 7pm is Rory Singer vs Josh Haynes (Ortiz-Shamrock 3), Georges St-Pierre vs. Sean Sherk (UFC 56) and Anderson Silva’s first beatdown of Rich Franklin for the Middleweight Title. This was the last time someone besides Anderson held the Middleweight belt. That was nearly 3 years ago.

The 8pm episode features Randy Couture vs. Mike Van Arsdale (UFC 54), Frank Mir vs. Tank Abbott (UFC 41) and Chuck Liddell vs. Jeremy Horn (UFC 54). Hard to believe that Chuck’s first title defense came against Jeremy Horn.

And if you’re having trouble sleeping, there’s a replay of the UFC 99 Countdown on at 2am.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. St. Bear permalink
    June 11, 2009 6:39 pm

    What the hell! Every post on this blog has to do with MMA. This may be the first sports blog to ever stay on topic 100% of the time.

    • June 11, 2009 7:01 pm

      Thank you? I’m sorry? The tone of your comment has left me discombobulated. I think it was the exclamation point in the beginning.

  2. June 11, 2009 8:54 pm

    Okay, for real, am I the only guy that wants to make out Georges St-Pierre? I’m saying, just look at the guy. If Jesus were gay, that’s who he’d date.

    Jesus would come back to Earth to look over the end of days, and then St-Pierre would wander by in the background and Jesus would be all, “Whoa, whoa, whoa. Who… is… that? Let’s put this Rapture thing on hold for a while, peeps.” And then he’d mosey over to St-Pierre and start bragging about how he can walk on water or whatever, probably even make some kind of I’d Like To Grapple With You innuendo after St-Pierre informed him he was an MMA fighter. Yeah, that’s exactly what’d happen.

    Liston

Leave a Reply

